News Updates

Latest News: KRA 7th Biennial General Meeting

The new KRA Office Bearers with some staff members

The 7th KRA Biennial General Meeting (BGM) was held on 18th September 2010 at the GHARP/KRA Secretariat premises, Hurlingham, Nairobi. One hundred people attended, including GHARP/KRA members, staff, Board members, and the KRA Auditor.

The event was a real success with plenty of information-sharing and updates on the progress of GHARP/KRA over the previous two years. The meeting was chaired by Dr. David Mburu, the outgoing KRA Chairman. He praised the work of GHARP/KRA and highlighted the ongoing implementation of major projects, as well as the enhanced communications and fundraising in the organisation. A number of the CBO member groups attended the meeting and reported back on the impacts of GHARP/KRA’s work, for example Mutito Wendani Matangi Self-help Group reported that they have lots of water in their farm pond and are successfully growing carrots, cabbages, beetroots, and sunflowers.  The Auditor also gave an overview of the organisation’s accounts for the year 2009 and congratulated KRA for their efforts in improving the livelihoods of vulnerable communities by attracting more financial support amd implementing community development projects in many areas. The meeting closed after the election of the new office-bearers to take over running of the organisation for the forthcoming two-year period. Participants then enjoyed a delicious meal courtesy of GHARP/KRA.

The outgoing office-bearers were as follows: Dr. David Mburu (Chairman), Eng. Reuben Muni (Vice Chairperson), Ms. Keziah Ngugi ( Secretary General), Dr. Duncan Mbuge (Assistant Secretary General), Ms. Cecilia Nzau (Treasurer), and Mr. Stephen Kamau (Assistant Treasurer) and the new office-bearers for 2010–2012 are as follows:

  • Chairperson: Dr. Patrick Home
  • Vice Chairperson: Mr. Francis Njoroge
  • Secretary General: Eng. Philip Langat
  • Assistant Secretary General: Ms. Jokastah Kalungu
  • Treasurer: Mr. William Wambugu
  • Assistant Treasurer: Ms. Joyce Njigua

Leave a Reply